Still Alice- Lisa Genova Book Review

Book Review on Still Alice

After it being highly recommended to me, I finally got to reading a book called Still Alice.  Still Alice tells the fictional experience of a girl who was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease.  The book follows her on her journey through her emotional acceptance of the disease as well as the struggles she and her family go through on a day to day basis. I really did enjoy this book.  I found that the author was able to effectively communicate multiple perspectives and stuck to a fairly realistic plot. I found that she provided readers with an eye opening point of view.  As mentioned in the book, when someone is diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease much emphasis and support programs are offered to family members and friends but not much is there for the actual victim.  Being able to read this point of view from an Alzheimer’s victim allows readers to get an insight into their emotional battles with themselves along with insight into their process of denial which hopefully leads to acceptance. 

Despite how much I thoroughly enjoyed this read, I found myself wanting so much more.  The ending leaves you with a door open to numerous plot possibilities.  It would have been nice to have been presented with some sort of closure.  As a reader you grow with Alice and become very attached to her and empathize with her situation, for me the ending did not allow me to understand the final chapters of Alice’s life which is what I would have preferred.  From a critical standpoint I also felt as though when going from one chapter to another they represented distinct “chapters of life” and did not show the transition from one to another.  I found myself having to reread in order to comprehend the sudden and quick transition from one chapter to the next. 

Overall, I would recommend this book. It is very well written and certainly deserves more awareness.

Let me know if you read the book and what you think!

xoxo 

Julia 

2 thoughts on “Still Alice- Lisa Genova Book Review

Leave a Reply

